Sun, 17 Jan 2021

Rashid Khan ready to lead new-look Afghanistan

21 Aug 2019, 17:42 GMT+10

Cape Town - New Afghanistan captain Rashid Khan will have a few new faces in his team when he leads the Asian country on their tour to Bangladesh next month.

Afghanistan will play a one-off Test, just their third ever, against the hosts and a T20I tri-series that will also include Zimbabwe.

Batsman Nasir Jamal, spinner Sharafuddin Ashraf, paceman Wafadar Momand and wrist spinner Waqar Salamkheil have all been axed from the squad that beat Ireland in the one-off Test in Dehradun in March while Mohammad Shahzad is serving a suspension.

Left-arm paceman Shapoor Zadran, who has never played Test cricket, as well as wicketkeeper-batsman Afsar Zazai, who played in Afghanistan's maiden Test - against India in June 2018 in Bengaluru - have both been included.

The others to make the cut were left-arm wrist spinner Zahir Khan, medium pacer Ahmad Shirzad and two players who have never represented Afghanistan in any format, batsman Ibrahim Zadran and spinner Qais Ahmad.

It will Rashid Khan's first games as Afghanistan's all-format skipper and he will have the experience of veterans Mohammad Nabi and Asghar Afghan with him in battle.

"We have selected a 17-member squad for the T20I matches as per the advice of the captain as we have two important tournaments - T20I Asia Cup and ICC T20 World Cup 2020 - ahead of us," Afghanistan chief selector Andy Moles said.

"We will seek to prepare good sides for these tournaments and those players who perform well, will be considered for selection.

"We will also consider the performance of players in the upcoming Shpageeza Cricket League and Afghanistan Premier League T20 for future selection."

Afghanistan squads

Test: Rashid Khan (captain), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Ihsanullah, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ikram Alikhil (wk), Zahir Khan, Javed Ahmadi, Ahmad Shirzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Afsar Zazai (wk), Shapoor Zadran, Qais Ahmad

T20I: Rashid Khan (captain), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Najeeb Tarakai, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najibullah Zadran, Shahidullah, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Fareed Ahmad, Shafiqullah, Fazal Niazai, Dawlat Zadran, Naveen-ul-Haq, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk)

More Cambodia News

Access More

Sign up for The Cambodia News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!